top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

It’s the butter

Shortbread cookies isn’t something I crave for. The commercially available ones seem to be overloaded with cheap butter and tastes of milk too. I read somewhere that shortbread cookies made with browned butter tastes different. And it’s absolutely true. Now I can say I actually like shortbread cookies!


Note: I think the cookies are a little too sweet so go with 3/4 cup of sugar instead. Use good quality butter. Also, I decided to use a baking sheet instead of round cake tins.


Here’s how to get browned butter:

- In a pan over medium heat, melt butter, stirring frequently. Once the butter foams, and you see it’s turned from yellow to brown, remove from heat. There will be brown flecks as well. It will go from brown to burnt quickly so keep watch.

- Let butter cool, then refrigerate until solidified. Remove from refrigerator before butter becomes too cold. Goal is to achieve room temperature browned butter.






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page