top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Choux - What’s that?

Updated: Mar 9, 2021

I had no idea what choux pastry was until I started watching the Great British Baking Show. It is used to make all the stuff I like: profiteroles, éclairs, and beignets. Instead of a raising agent, the dough relies on the high moisture content to create steam to puff the pastry. Steam is an amazing thing isn’t it? (BTW, The Maple Guild pioneered a method called steam-crafting to significantly speed up maple syrup production.)


There was a baker on the baking show that had trouble with her choux pastry in the semi-finals so I was a little worried that I’d run into issues. I was peering into the oven and was overjoyed to see the pastry rise! Success at first attempt is always so gratifying.


This is a really easy dessert to make. I must remember to put this on my list of desserts to make for a party or bring to a party - when we can party again. I can’t believe I used to pay $12 for three profiteroles...I know better now.








Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page