top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

My love of pineapple tarts is indescribable

Updated: Mar 8, 2021

Chinese Lunar New Year starts on Feb 12, 2021 so I thought I’d make one of my favorite items - pineapple tarts. I could not find a recipe I liked so I invented my own.


I used all the juice in the two fresh pineapples because I wanted the intense flavor. In addition to cloves, star anise, and cinnamon, I added a little butter and vanilla essence to the pineapple jam. I like my pastry flaky and buttery melt-in-your mouth so I veered from all the recipes I found, and rubbed cold butter chunks into the flour directly. I also added vanilla essence to my dough, and chilled it overnight. Instead of egg wash, I used butter and maple syrup.


Keeping the pineapple juice added an hour to my pineapple jam cooking time - two hours in total. There’s a fine balance - you don’t want a hard filling nor a drippy wet filling so the right consistency to achieve a moist filling after baking is critical.


Because of the buttery soft dough and the moist pineapple, working fast, keeping all the ingredients cold (turning off the fireplace - hygge can wait) is critical or you won’t be able to form a tart. Ratio: 8 grams of pineapple to 11 grams of dough


This is a labor of love for the love of pineapple tarts because I’m a pineapple tart snob. I inhale pineapple tarts!


Recipe is modified but based on this: https://rasamalaysia.com/recipe-pineapple-tarts/



26 views

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires

Les commentaires n'ont pas pu être chargés.
Il semble qu'un problème technique est survenu. Veuillez essayer de vous reconnecter ou d'actualiser la page.
bottom of page