top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

A birthday cake

I don’t bake a lot of cakes. But today was an exception. I baked a chocolate coffee cake with coffee buttermilk frosting topped with chocolate shavings, for my friend Nick B’s birthday. This is the first time I’m making buttermilk frosting and it’s easy.


Nick invited nine friends to his home to celebrate his birthday, and I feel fortunate to have been invited. I met some old acquaintances and made new friends.


Recipes:

Note: I reduced the sugar from 2 cups to 1.5 cups (300g). I used 3 tablespoons of Kona coffee to make 1 cup of brewed coffee.


Note: I reduced the sugar from 1.5 cups to 1 cup (200g), omitted the cocoa powder, and went with 2 tablespoons of coffee.

Tip: I should have left the buttercream at room temperature while waiting for the cake to cool, instead of putting it in the fridge, because refrigeration changes the texture of the frosting. But if you have to refrigerate it, here’s how to soften the frosting: https://cakedecorist.com/how-to-soften-refrigerated-buttercream-frosting/



13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page