top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

When the host asks

Updated: Sep 21, 2022

Tonight I’m going to a bitters making party and I’m looking forward to making orange bitters and cardamom bitters. I asked if we should bring food and the host says:”Marguerite, if you can replicate that coffee cream cake I might just lose my mind.” Followed by:“YES YES YES!” from another friend that was in our group chat. So here’s my contribution to the party. I certainly hope it lives up to, or exceeds that memory - Presenting the chocolate coffee cake with coffee buttercream frosting topped with chocolate shavings.


Recipes:

Note: I reduced the sugar from 2 cups to 1.5 cups (300g). I used 3 tablespoons of Kona coffee to make 1 cup of brewed coffee.


Note: I reduced the sugar from 1.5 cups to 1 cup (200g), omitted the cocoa powder, and went with 2 tablespoons of coffee.


Tip: Leave the buttercream at room temperature while waiting for the cake to cool instead of putting it in the fridge, because refrigeration changes the texture of the frosting. But if you have to refrigerate it, here’s how to soften the frosting: https://cakedecorist.com/how-to-soften-refrigerated-buttercream-frosting/




Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page