top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

An investment

For some time, I‘ve wanted a stand mixer with a large metal mixing bowl with metal (not plastic) parts. But they don’t come cheap. Amazon was selling the one I wanted for $760. It’s a lot for a kitchen gadget so I held off until Target had a big sale recently. I received the stand mixer yesterday and the first thing I made was Panettone with apricots, raisins, cranberries, and candied walnuts. I love Panettone because you can put anything you want in them, and is eaten during my favorite holiday (Christmas). I used to buy Panettone from Williams Sonoma - one, they’re not cheap for what is relatively cheap ingredients, and two, they are stingy with their chestnuts which would annoy me. Suffice to say I’m thrilled that I can make my own Panettone and be liberal with my ingredients. Oh, and I love my stand mixer!


Note: Instead of cherries and candied peel, I used candied walnuts, raisins, and apricots - 50 grams each. The first proof took 2 hours. The second proof comprised of an hour outside, then 6 hours in the fridge overnight as I needed to get to bed. This morning it spent 3 hours cooling outside before being baked.






Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page