top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

It started with salt

I love salt. For someone that doesn’t cook, I have a larger variety of salt in my spice drawer than needed:

Hawaiian red salt

Hawaiian medium grain sea salt

Roasted garlic gray salt

Citrus Rosemary gray salt

Sun dried tomato garlic gray salt

Smoked salt

Truffle salt

Gray sea salt

I sometimes go off recipe and use these salts in my baking as appropriate.


One of the food bloggers/cookbook author I follow, Nik Sharma, talked about a book called The Miracle of Salt by Naomi Duguid. That prompted me to ask my friend Sam on Oct. 16 if that was the same book he mentioned during our trip to Victoria. It wasn’t. Instead it was Salt A World History by Mark Kurlansky. And, there’s another book Sam said - Salt Fat Acid Heat by Samin Nosrat. Who knew there were so many books about salt? Since we were meeting for dinner on Oct. 21, I asked if he could bring those two books so I could decide if I wanted to purchase them. He said sure. Now Sam is an amazing and generous guy and he gifted me those two books for my birthday which came as a complete surprise, and it’s the best gift because I never knew or thought I’d want them.


This morning my eye zoomed in on my favorite items in the contents section of the book - Butter-and-Flour Doughs, and Sweets. I was going to take a baking break this weekend but couldn’t help myself, and baked a recipe from the book. That’s how this Fresh Ginger and Molasses Cake came about. It’s the perfect cake for this rainy Fall weather. It’s light, super soft, and fluffy. Definitely a winning recipe.


Recipe: Page 412 Salt Fat Acid Heat - Fresh ginger and Molasses Cake




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page