top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Hard as rock

When the author of the recipe mentioned that it takes work to cut butternut squash, I thought we both just dislike dicing vegetables (dicing is one of the many reasons I dislike cooking). I’ve never cooked squash. Little did I know these hollow things present such a challenge to cut. They are literally as hard as a rock. What’s the deal?


At first I thought the acorn squash (I could not find butternut squash in the store, so I went for acorn squash) wasn’t ripe. I did an online search and confirmed it’s ripe. So I tried cutting again. No dice (pun intended)! My inner voice told me to stop wrestling with the squash before I slice off a finger. I really did not want to go to the ER especially during COVID. So online I went again, looking for the best cutting technique. Chef Mark Alan showed me how. It helped a lot. But the squash was still tough as nails. By this time I was thinking that it‘s easier to lift weights….seriously!


When I finally conquered this beast, I went online to find out how different butternut and acorn squash are. It turns out that acorn squash is harder to cut compared to butternut squash! But of course that’s the one I picked as a substitute for butternut squash. Couldn’t have picked a worse substitute!


Despite the ordeal, this acorn squash with roasted garlic galette is rather delicious. It was at least worth the time and effort. However, I won’t be touching squash of any kind again.





Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page