top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

It almost didn’t happen

Updated: Sep 21, 2022

I almost decided against baking this blueberry-pecan galette after I read the comments about the recipe…..Everything from the dough being too wet, to the crust being dry and crumbly, to there was too little fruit. However, after I re-read the recipe again, I figured that people either used too much water, did not use ice cold water, allowed the butter to completely melt, and/or worked the dough in the food processor for too long. Some folks blamed it on the pecans. I’ve used pecans, almonds, and hazelnuts in my crusts so I did not think it was the pecans.


My advice to folks who want to try this really easy recipe is the following:

  1. Let the pecans cool completely….I mean really cool because you don’t want the butter to melt.

  2. Make sure the butter is cold and you cut into cubes, do not melt the butter. For a crispy crust, make sure you work fast in getting the dough together, and in rolling out the dough later (think puff pastry).

  3. Use ice cold water - cannot emphasize this enough.

  4. I used a food processor to pulse the pecans but I used a stand mixer to combine the flour, sugar, salt, cinnamon and butter, because a stand mixer is gentler than a food processor. You don’t want to over-work the dough. It should never be wet.

  5. I used 1.5 times the amount of blueberries, and also 1.5 times all the ingredients that make the filling.

It turned out great. I think this is actually the best galette I’ve made - the pecans add flavor, and the crust was crispy and tasty without being too buttery.









10 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page