top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Sorbet season

Updated: Sep 21, 2022

I collected two handfuls of blackcurrant leaves at Nettles Farm on Lummi Island this past weekend. I’ve used the leaves to flavor my water and to make tea but I have plenty of leaves left so I decided to make some sorbet out of it. I’m pretty sure I’ll find the sorbet refreshing on a rare blazing sunny day!


Recipe:

Two handfuls of fresh and cleaned (rinsed in water) blackcurrant leaves

Zest and juice of 3 lemons

175g sugar

575ml water

1 egg white, whisked


Gently crush the leaves to release the fragrance.

Dissolve the sugar in the water, then add the lemon zest.

Bring to a simmer then remove from the heat.

Add the leaves and let cool. Add the lemon juice.

Cover and leave to infuse for two days in the fridge.

Strain the syrup and churn in an ice-cream maker for 5 minutes, then add the egg white.

Stir to incorporate egg white and churn.

Once mixture is smooth, freeze until firm.






Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page