top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Dessert’s a must

Those of you who know me, know I always save room for dessert. I will be so done with dinner but I need dessert because no meal is complete otherwise. So it goes without saying that after baking something savory, I had to bake a dessert.


This is a rather healthy dessert if I may say so. It is butter- and oil-free, and flourless! There is no raising agent other than the air from whipped egg whites. It is a dark chocolate cake with 62% cacao, and Grand Marnier. My friend Jean texted me: “Guess you can rationalize eating the whole cake since there’s no oil.” My response: “Right??”.


Note: Skip the buttercream, add Grand Marnier, and use a round cake tin instead of a Swiss roll tin. I lined the tin with parchment paper as I wasn’t sure if the cake would rise in a non-stick tin. Also, it’s easier to remove the cake especially if you don’t have a non-stick tin. You’ll need to increase the bake time since we’re reducing the baking surface area. Also, turn the cake upside down to cool or it will sink and crack.


Note: I went with the Grand Marnier option.







Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Mary Elaine Orr
Mary Elaine Orr
Aug 16, 2021

Dessert is a must!

Like
bottom of page