top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

It’s Thanksgiving

It’s that time of year where I enjoy the festive mood, while counting my blessings, and being thankful for all that I have. Those who know me, know that I don’t care for turkey, stuffing, pumpkin pie, and pumpkin spiced latte. Instead, I go for seafood or steak, and cranberries. Today I made cranberry sauce with orange and cinnamon, chicken pithivier with Brie and cranberries, and a cranberry-lime pie.


Note: I made my own puff pastry. There are many recipes with slight variations. Here are a couple I use depending on how much time I have:


Cranberry sauce recipe:

• 12 oz bag of cranberries, fresh or frozen (if frozen, allow to thaw first) • 1⁄2 cup honey • 1 medium cinnamon stick • Juice and zest of 1 orange • 1 cup of water

  1. Rinse the cranberries well and discard any mushy ones.

  2. Wash the orange and zest the orange.

  3. Juice the orange and add enough water to equal 1 cup of liquid

  4. Place all ingredients in a saucepan on the stove and heat at med-high heat until the mixture comes to a full boil.

  5. Reduce the heat to medium low and simmer uncovered for approximately 10 minutes until the cranberries pop and the mixture thickens. Stir occasionally so the mixture doesn’t stick. Cook longer if you want your cranberry sauce thicker. Add more water if you like it thinner.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page