top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Reasons why I dislike cooking

Updated: Mar 24, 2021

I planned to bake chicken pithivier on New Year’s Eve. The day before, I started preparing the filling. This was the least fun part and I regretted being overly ambitious with my list of ingredients: Leeks, potatoes, mushrooms, carrots, parsley, ginger, garlic, and of course chicken. I don’t care for the process of washing, dicing, and stir frying -washing is boring and I’m slow at dicing. This process took an eternity and it is why I dislike cooking.


Pithvier requires two puff pastry blocks - one for the base and one to cover the ingredients. I made the puff pastry and the process took 4.5 hours.


Carving a series of curved lines from the steam hole to the edge of the dome was the most fun part...aside from eating it.


It was my first attempt at baking a pithivier and I was hopeful. It turned out much better than I had expected. The flavor was good, there was no soggy bottom, the puff pastry was flaky and evenly baked. It was delicious!




13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page