top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Summer fruit Genoise

This past week felt like Summer (sunny, blue skies, warm, t-shirt and sandals), which is rare in April in Seattle. Warm weather calls for a light dessert with berries, hence this Summer fruit Genoise. This is my first time making Genoise sponge. There is a lot of whipping involved in this recipe and I’m glad I now have an electric hand mixer. I made two chiffon cakes whipping egg whites by hand and I never want to do that again.


Recipe: https://www.paulhollywood.com/post/summerfruitgenoise Note that the recipe is for a single layer of sponge. If you want 2 layers, double the butter, eggs, sugar, salt, and flour. If you want 3 layers, tripe the ingredients. I quadrupled them for my 4-layer cake.


I added vanilla essence and lemon zest for more flavor. I also used four shallow layer cake tins instead of attempting to slice the sponge - it’s just easier, and removes the likelihood of a lopsided cake which you can’t frost to cover up in this instance.





12 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page