top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Twisted dough

Updated: May 11, 2021

I decided to make pretzels for two reasons: I just got my second COVID-19 vaccine shot and kneading dough might help ease the arm pain, and two, if I were to feel unwell tonight or tomorrow, at least I have something to munch on. I originally planned to make six savory and six sweet pretzels but decided against the sweet ones. When I don’t feel well, sweet stuff makes me feel worse.


  1. I did not have enough milk so I used whatever milk I had, then added yogurt with a little water to make up the 280ml.

  2. I also did not have malt extract so I used molasses as a substitute.

  3. Instead of dropping the pretzel into boiling water with bicarbonate of soda, I brushed the solution (1/4 cup of warm water + 3/4 tsp of baking soda) onto the pretzels directly, just like you would egg wash.

  4. Savory topping:

    1. 2 tbsp of coarse roasted garlic gray salt

    2. 1 tsp of onion powder

    3. 1/2 tsp of rosemary

    4. 1/2 tsp of thyme

    5. 1 tsp of cayenne pepper

Despite all the modifications I made to Hollywood’s recipe, it turned out amazing! The warm pretzels were soft and flavorful.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page