top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

What to do with apples

I mentioned earlier my friend gave me apples from his garden. After making an apple galette, I decided to make apple chips and apple sauce with the remaining apples. As I was stirring the apple sauce on the stove, I ate the chips and finished it all - forgetting to take pictures! I didn't make much chips - just two trays worth of chips that took over an hour to bake. I ran out of patience which is why I made the sauce instead.


I did not follow any recipe for the sauce. I made it up as I went - just like my friends who are cooks do. I added lemon zest, lemon juice, cinnamon, allspice, ground cloves, ground ginger, nutmeg, sugar, and a pinch of salt and tasted the concoction along the way till I was happy with it.


In January, I made apple butter and I'm down to my last few servings. I'm looking forward to using the apple sauce in my salads, in my dinners, in oatmeal, and more!





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page