top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

When does the drunken process begin?

Updated: Jan 13, 2022

I shared a progress update on the fruit cakes, with my friend Jean. My text said:”The aging process begins.”. Her response:”When does the drunken process begin?” I love her sense of humor.


Making fruit cake is a process. I should have started earlier but I was so busy with work, business and personal travel that I just couldn’t start the process. So two days ago, I soaked raisins, apricots, dates, figs, cranberries, and prunes in rum for more than 24 hours. Today, I baked the cakes, wrapped them in cheesecloth soaked with Triple Sec, and refrigerated them. In a week, I’ll re-soak the cheesecloth with Triple Sec and repeat the refrigeration. In two weeks, I’ll break one cake out for a taste test. Stay tuned. I’ll update this post with more pictures then.


Update: I waited three weeks before removing the cheesecloth. I glazed the cake, added walnuts, and did a taste test. The cake is moist, flavorful, and fragrant - definitely fruity and boozy! Here’s some pictures:








Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page