top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

Pi Day

It’s a great excuse to bake a pie. I decided on the good old chicken pie but with a twist of my own recipe:


Garlic

Caramelized red onion

Chopped parsley

Ginger

Salt (sundried tomato garlic gray salt)

Black ground pepper

Thyme

Basil

Worcestershire sauce

Dried cranberries

Corn


I wanted an interesting pattern on my pie but don’t own a pastry cutter. So I used a sushi mat (see pic) to guide me with the cutting. The cotton strings on the sushi mat serve as good ‘stop cutting’ points. After making the desired vertical cuts, I rotated the sushi mat (easier than rotating the dough), to make the horizontal lines. This was a random pattern but you can create more deliberate ones as well. Before placing the dough on your pie, gently stretch out the dough to get the desired gaps/design before placing on top of the pie.




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page