top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarguerite Yeo

My own recipe

It’s been a while since I baked a savory pie so I took what I had at home and created this ginger chicken, spinach, cranberries, and pine nuts pie. For this reason, I don’t have a link to a recipe to share, nor do I have precise measurements because I literally just created this on the fly.


Puff pastry for pie crust recipe:

- 250g all purpose flour

- 226g cold butter (2 sticks)

- 1/2 tsp of salt

- Sufficient cold water to form a dough (pour a little at a time)

- Let dough sit for a least an hour in the fridge. Roll into a rectangle and make two folds. Repeat another three times, then let dough sit in fridge for at least an hour. Detailed instructions for making puff pastry can be found here: https://preppykitchen.com/puff-pastry/


Pie filling recipe:

- 1lb ground chicken (go for good chicken that’s cage-free, hormone-free etc.)

- Handful of dried cranberries (or as much as you like)

- As much ginger as you like (I love ginger)

- A bag of spinach

- Handful of pine nuts

Season spinach with salt and pepper. Season chicken with salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, cumin, paprika, onion powder, thyme, and rosemary.

After cooking spinach and chicken, taste a little to determine if you need more seasoning. Let it cool before adding to pie dough.


Bake at 350 deg. Fahrenheit until golden brown.





Recent Posts

See All

Comentarii


bottom of page